List of States in Ghana and Their Capitals

Spread the love

Have you ever wondered what the states in Ghana are called? Or maybe you’ve been wondering how many States there are in Ghana. Well, you have absolutely come to the right place. In this article, we will be telling you what the States in Ghana are and their capital. Read on.

There are 16 states in Ghana, but if you call them states in Ghana, nobody is going to know what you are talking about because, in Ghana, they are called regions. So, you should note that instead of saying states in Ghana, you should use the term regions in Ghana.

But before we start, here is a piece of brief information on Ghana.

Brief Introduction before we go into States in Ghana


Ghana borders Togo, Cote d’Ivoire, and Burkina Faso and has a population of about 30 million people. During the past 2 decades, it has taken major strides toward democracy under a multi-party system, using its independent judiciary to win public trust.

Ghana consistently ranks in the very best 3 countries in Africa for freedom of press and speech, with strong broadcast media, with radio being the medium with the best reach.

Years after being elected president in a peaceful election, President Akuffo-Addo has marked some successes implementing a few of his promises such as providing food and jobs and free secondary education.

Related:  How to and where to buy quality backlinks in Nigeria (No 2 is amazing)

But he also faces challenges fulfilling a few of his election pledges including establishing a factory in each one of the nation’s 216 districts, one dam for each village among others.


List of States in Ghana on Ghana map

List of States in Ghana and Their Capitals

Before we continue with the list of states in Ghana, I want to first explain that in Ghana, they are not called States, but rather regions, and then their leaders are not called governors, but rather, they are called ministers.

So, the table below shows a list of States in Ghana, better known as the regions in Ghana and their capitals are called regional capital.

S/NRegions of GhanaArea (km2)Regional capitalsName of Current ministers (Governors) in Ghana
 1Ahafo Region5,193GoasoEvans Opoku Bobie
 2Ashanti Region24,389KumasiSimon Osei-Mensah.
 3Bono Region11,107SunyaniEvelyn Ama Kumi-Richardson
 4Bono East Region23,257TechimanKofi Amoakohene
 5Central Region9,826Cape CoastKwamena Duncan
 6Eastern Region19,323KoforiduaHon. Eric Kwakye Darfour
 7Greater Accra Region3,245AccraIshmael Ashitey
 8Northern Region25,448TamaleSolomon Namliit Boar
 9North East Region9,074NaleriguSalifu Saeed
 10Oti Region11,066DambaiKwasi Owusu Yeboah
 11Savannah Region35,862DamongoSalifu Adam Braimah
 12Upper East Region8,842BolgatangaRockson Ayine Bukari
 13Upper West Region18,476WaDr. Hafiz Salih
 14Volta Region9,504HoArchibald Yao Letsa
 15Western Region13,847Sekondi-TakoradiKwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah
 16Western North Region10,074WiawsoKingsley Aboagye Gyedu

List of 16 States in Ghana and Their Capitals and population


1. The Greater Accra Region:

Accra which can be known as the Port City of Ghana isn’t just a money-making hub, however, it is also the capital of the country too. It has the highest number of residents among all other states in Ghana with a populace of 4,010,054 individuals. The city has 16 districts

Related:  Who Is The Richest Actress In Nigeria

2. The Central Region

THE ADMINISTRATIVE capital city of the region is the Cape Coast. It was used for harboring such a substantial number of slaves back in the day when the slave trade was a thing in Africa. Notably, slaves were delivered to this district to work. With a population size higher than that of Accra, the country’s capital, the Central region traverses a territory of 9,826 square kilometers. It has 17 districts and a population of about 2,201,863 individuals.


3. The Eastern Region

The region’s capital is Koforidua with a size of 19,323 square kilometers. It sits on the eastern side of the country beautifully. The Akans will be the principal tenants of the Eastern area and Akan. English and Ewe will be the real dialects in this area of 26 districts. The Eastern Region may be home to the Akosombo Dam, one of the primary dams in the continent supplying electricity to its occupants.


4. The Western Region

The region’s capital is Sekondi – Takoradi, located towards the south of Ghana near the Ivory Coast. In June 2007 crude oil was discovered here. Also, gold mining (small/large scale) happens there also. The Western Region covers 23,921 square kilometers of land with a population of 2,376,021 residents in 22 districts. The principal dialects in this area are Akan and English, as Akan rules the true lifestyle.


5. The Ashanti Region

This region may be the third biggest of the 16 regions in Ghana (states in Ghana) with Kumasi as the administrative capital. With a surface territory of 24,389 square kilometers, it’s the most populous in Ghana.

6. The Northern Region

It’s the largest among the 16 states in Ghana and their capitals, covering 70,384 square kilometers. The region’s capital city is Tamale. Shockingly, the Northern Region is considerably drier than others regions in Ghana. It is made up of a population of 2,479,461 and 26 districts within it.

Related:  Top 50 Richest Men In Nigeria 2023


7. The Upper East Region

With 13 districts, the locale can be found on the northern sides of Ghana. The State may be the second smallest among the 16. Having a surface area of 8,842 square kilometers. The administrative capital is Bolgatanga. It has a populace of just 1,046,545.


8. The Upper West Region

Located in northwestern Ghana. THE ADMINISTRATIVE capital of the Upper West Region is Wa. Covering a location of 18, 476 square kilometers with a populace of 702,110

9. The Volta Region

With Ho as its capital, that is among the areas that are multi-ethnic and multilingual. Notably, the spot houses communities such as example Ewe, the Guan, and Akan. A populace is had because of it of around 2,118,252 residents surviving in an area of 20,570 square kilometers. The Volta Region has 25 districts.

10. The Bono Region

With an area of 39,557 square kilometers, this region may be the second-largest among the parts of Ghana and its capitals. The capital of the region is Sunyani. In 1958, This region was established from Bono State. The residents of the region will be the Akans, Brongs, and Ahafo. The Brong Ahafo Region has 21 districts and a population of 2,310,983 residents.


11. Oti Region

Oti Region is one of the six newly formed regions. February 2019 President Nana Akuffo-Addo declared its administrative capital as Dambai. It includes 8 districts.

12. Western North Region

Sefwi Wiawso is the capital of the Western North Region. It has a population of just 1,924,577 citizens.


13. North-East Region

North East area is among the new regions in the nation. Its capital is Nalerigu in the East Mamprusi Municipal. On the north, it borders the Upper East part, on the east lies the Eastern Ghana-Togo international border, on the south may be the Northern area, and the west may be the Upper West Region. Similar to all of those other new areas, it had been carved out of a preexisting state and this time it was from the Northern Region.


14. Savannah Region

Savannah is among the 16 states in Ghana. Its population is less dense in comparison to other parts because it has 581,368 residents and occupies a location of 35,862 square kilometers. Savannah has six districts.

15. Bono East Region

Bono East Region is a fresh region produced from the prevailing Brong Ahafo. It has Techiman as its capital. It covers an area size of around 22,220 square kilometers, with a population of just 1,179,649.

16. Ahafo Region

Goaso is the capital of the Ahafo Region.

Spread the love

1 thought on “List of States in Ghana and Their Capitals”

Leave a Comment